top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Crooks-Allen

For when they do not love you the way that you want them to...

Love them anyway

Not the way you love yourself

That is too sacred


Love them like a sunset

You know they will leave

But they are still beautiful while it lasts


Most people will not know how to love you the way you want them to.

They will love you too soft.

Or too inconsistent.

Or too fragrant.

Or too typical


They may send you flowers

but they won’t be rainbow daisies.

And they may tell you they love you

but it will be amidst a disagreement.

They may remember your favorite song

but you’ll only remember how they sang it out of key.


And when they kiss your tears away as you sleep your fitful sleep.

You will wake up only recalling a drought in your dreams.

Because they can only love you the way that they can.

And it is okay if that is not the right way.

For you.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Home

Every day when my dog, Huey and I return to my apartment I point to the door and say “Home” I am beginning to suspect that I am trying to teach myself this lesson as well.

#BlackLivesMatter*

When I scream Black Lives Matter There is an asterisk in the back of my throat that whispers *this does not apply to me My life does not matter People would barely miss me if I was gone Sometimes I wi

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page