top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Crooks-Allen

#BlackLivesMatter*

When I scream Black Lives Matter

There is an asterisk in the back of my throat that whispers

*this does not apply to me

My life does not matter

People would barely miss me if I was gone

Sometimes I wish that I could take their places

Bring back Breonna Taylor or little Aiyana Stanley-Jones

Take me instead

Maybe I could be more useful as hashtag

I’m sure feeling like a lump hits different from inside a body bag

At least I wont feel like a waste of a toe tag


It's no wonder that I can’t breathe

when I constantly feel like a waste of oxygen

Why couldn’t they take me

And leave someone here, more deserving

It’s unnerving,

The way that I lay in my bed and pray for death

Yet, cops have murdered better people in their homes without an invitation

What I gotta do around here to get some damn service?

They out here protecting and serving my people to death

And yet, they screen my calls


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Home

Every day when my dog, Huey and I return to my apartment I point to the door and say “Home” I am beginning to suspect that I am trying to teach myself this lesson as well.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page